Brewers represented by 14 players in WBC | Disciples of Uecker

Disciples of Uecker

We'd like to go to the Playoffs, that would be cool.

The surprise was ruined weeks ago, but Ryan Braun and Jonathan Lucroy are officially members of Team USA in the 2013 World Baseball Classic.

The American team was announced this morning, with the rest of the world’s rosters being announced later this afternoon. Twelve other Brewers players and farmhands have been named  to various squads:

John Axford
Taylor Green
Jim Henderson
Rene Tosoni

Puerto Rico
Hiram Burgos
Martin Maldonado

Yovani Gallardo
Marco Estrada

Hainley Statia

Dominican Republic
Carlos Gomez

Jeff Bianchi

Mike Walker

WBC rules dictate that no more than 14 players from one organization (and no more than 10 major league players from one team) can appear in the tournament.

The rest of the Team USA roster that will be joining Braun and Lucroy:

C: Joe Mauer, J.P. Arencibia
1B: Mark Teixeira
2B: Brandon Phillips
SS: Jimmy Rollins
3B: David Wright
IF: Ben Zobrist, Willie Bloomquist
OF: Adam Jones, Giancarlo Stanton, Shane Victorino
LHP: Jeremy Affeldt, Tim Collins, Derek Holland, Glen Perkins
RHP: Heath Bell, Mitchell Boggs, Steve Cishek, R.A. Dickey, Luke Gregorson, Craig Kimbrel, Kris Medlen, Chris Perez, Vinnie Pestano, Ryan Vogelsong

Team USA’s first game will be against Mexico on March 8th.

Share Our Posts

Share this post through social bookmarks.

  • Delicious
  • Digg
  • Newsvine
  • RSS
  • StumbleUpon
  • Technorati