Brewers bloggers name Braun MVP for 2nd straight year | Disciples of Uecker

Disciples of Uecker

We'd like to go to the Playoffs, that would be cool.

For the second straight year, Ryan Braun is the Brewers’ team MVP as voted by 27 members of the Brewers blogosphere.

Braun was the unanimous choice for team MVP, a first in the three years of blogosphere voting. Aramis Ramirez was the near-unanimous runner-up, collecting 23 of 25 second-place votes (two ballots only included votes for first place, not second and third). Yovani Gallardo, Corey Hart, Norichika Aoki, Jonathan Lucroy, and Carlos Gomez also received votes.

Gallardo was the runaway winner of the Most Valuable Pitcher award, collecting 127 points thanks to 24 first place votes, 2 second place votes and a third place vote. Zack Greinke was the runner-up despite only pitching half the year for the Brewers, with Marco Estrada and Mike Fiers also collecting significant point totals.

Like the Team MVP voting, there was a clear 1-2 in the voting for Top Newcomer. Ramirez easily won the award thanks to 25 first place votes, while Aoki was the clear runner-up with 20 second place votes. Mike Fiers took third place in this category thanks to 9 third place votes.

The closest race turned out to be for the Unsung Hero award, with Estrada narrowly edging Maldonado, 58 points to 54. The difference was Estrada’s 8 first place votes compared to Maldonado’s 7, as every first place vote was worth 5 points. 17 different names appeared in the voting for this category, with Jim Henderson (22 points) beating out Carlos Gomez (21 points) for third place. The Los Angeles Dodgers got a vote for 2nd place thanks to their 1-6 record against the Brewers. Shyam Das, the arbitrator who overturned MLB’s suspension of Ryan Braun on appeal, also received a third place vote.

In the always-fun Good Guy category, 21 different people/entities received votes, including Yuniesky Betancourt for no longer being the Brewers’ shortstop, Ed Sedar, Marcus Hanel, the “Vincredible Chulk” Vinny Chulk, and the Twitter feed @BestFansStLouis. Rickie Weeks won the award with 48 votes, with most voters appreciating the hard work he put in during his first-half slump. Nyjer Morgan/”Tony Hush” took second place with 43 votes for toning down his act when he wasn’t playing well, and continuing to be the team’s best cheerleader even when his playing time slipped. John Axford (24 points) edged out Jonathan Lucroy (15) for third place. Former bullpen coach Stan Kyles took 5th place for handling his scapegoat firing with class.

The 27 voters this year came from 12 blogs/websites:

Disciples of Uecker
Brew Crew Ball
Ron Roenicke Stole My Baseball
View From Bernie’s Chalet
Brewer Nation
Pocket Doppler
The Brewers Bar
Brewers Rumors
Breaking WI
Miller Park Drunk
Cream City Cables

The Brewers blogosphere matched the Milwaukee BBWAA this year on their picks for Team MVP, Most Valuable Pitcher, Top Newcomer and Unsung Hero. Axford won the BBWAA’s Good Guy award in the only difference between the bloggers and the BBWAA this year.

As mentioned, this is the third year the Brewers blogosphere has come together to have their own vote on team awards. If you’re interested in the results from 2011 and 2010, those results are still online.

If you’re interested in seeing every ballot submitted and the vote breakdown for this year’s count, you can view them all in this Google spreadsheet.

Thanks to everyone who participated this year, and thanks for all the interest in this project. We wouldn’t do it if there weren’t people who wanted to see it.

Share Our Posts

Share this post through social bookmarks.

  • Delicious
  • Digg
  • Newsvine
  • RSS
  • StumbleUpon
  • Technorati