Brewers set rotation to start 2012 | Disciples of Uecker

Disciples of Uecker

We'd like to go to the Playoffs, that would be cool.

Many people could have guessed it by looking at the spring schedule, but the Brewers made their starting rotation to start the season official on Wednesday. Yovani Gallardo will take the ball on Opening Day for the third straight season. He’ll be followed by Zack Greinke and Randy Wolf in the season-opening series against St. Louis. Shaun Marcum and Chris Narveson will take the first two games in Chicago, on Milwaukee’s first road trip of the season.

Of course, things could change in a hurry if Marcum is unable to start the season on the active roster. He hasn’t had any issues since fighting shoulder inflammation earlier this spring, but there’s still a small chance the Brewers will have to put him on the DL to start the year. If that has to happen, the Brewers are at least covering themselves by having Marcum make his next start on the minor league side, allowing them to backdate a DL move if need be.

If things go according to plan, Marcum’s first start will be in front of a national audience, April 9th in a Monday night ESPN game against the Cubs. Ron Roenicke has said in the past that he liked Marcum in the 4th spot to split up the two lefties in the rotation, Wolf and Narveson.

A lot of attention is paid to the order of the rotation to start the year, but chances are things will get jumbled as the season progresses, whether it’s due to injuries or off-days and skipped starts. At the very least, it gives us something to talk about as spring training winds down.

Brewers history of Opening Day starters:
2010s: Gallardo (’12, ’11, ’10)
2000s: Jeff Suppan (’09), Ben Sheets (’08, ’07, ’05, ’04, ’03, ’02), Doug Davis (’06), Jamey Wright (’01), Steve Woodard (’00)
1990s: Rafael Roque (’99), Cal Eldred (’98, ’94), Ben McDonald (’97), Ricky Bones (’96, ’95), Bill Wegman (’93, ’92), Mark Knudson (’91), Chris Bosio (’90)
1980s: Don August (’89), Teddy Higuera (’88, ’87, ’86), Moose Haas (’85), Don Sutton (’84, ’83), Pete Vuckovich (’82), Mike Caldwell (’81), Jim Slaton (’80)
1970s: Caldwell (’79), Jerry Augustine (’78), Bill Travers (’77), Slaton (’76, ’75), Jim Colborn (’74, ’73), Bill Parsons (’72), Marty Pattin (’71), Lew Krausse (’70)

Share Our Posts

Share this post through social bookmarks.

  • Delicious
  • Digg
  • Newsvine
  • RSS
  • StumbleUpon
  • Technorati