DoU Hall of Greatness: Now Voting for 1980s | Disciples of Uecker

Disciples of Uecker

We'd like to go to the Playoffs, that would be cool.

Earlier this week, you all voted three more players into the DoU Hall of Greatness from the 1970s: George Scott, Mike Caldwell, and Don Money. We now move to the most-anticipated ballot in this project we started a couple weeks ago. It’s time for the 1980s Brewers to come up for induction.

Some of the most iconic Milwaukee Brewers players and baseball personnel came from the decade of the 80s, and some of the most memorable moments came from that decade as well. The team made their only World Series appearance in franchise history in 1982, and it’s an era still prominently defines the organization (much to the chagrin of some).

So, let’s get down to it. For those who have not yet cast a ballot for the DoU Hall of Greatness, here are the guidelines:

(1) You may vote for up to ten individuals, and your ballot is not restricted to players. You may vote for players, managers, or owners.

(2) The individual must have played in Milwaukee for at least three seasons.

(3) An individual needs 65% of the vote to be inducted into the DoU Hall of Greatness and must receive at least 5% of the vote to be included on next year’s ballot.

(4) You have up to ten votes per ballot.

As before, send in your ballots to Include “DoU Hall of Greatness” in your subject line, and list which players for whom you’re voting in the body of the email. The voting will close for this era on Monday at 1:00pm central time.

Here are some of the names you might consider for your ballot. This is not an exhaustive list, however, so please take some time to research some of the past Brewers teams. After all, that’s the overarching point of this project.

Robin Yount
Cecil Cooper
Gorman Thomas
Paul Molitor
Jim Gantner
Ben Oglivie
Ted Simmons
Rob Deer
Greg Brock
Teddy Higuera
Moose Haas
Chris Bosio
Dan Plesac
Rollie Fingers
Juan Nieves
Pete Vuckovich
Bill Wegman
Harry Dalton
Harvey Kuenn
Chuck Crim
Bill Schroeder
Glenn Braggs

NOTE: B.J. Surhoff will be saved for the 1990s ballot.

I look forward to reading your ballots. Remember, send your ballots to and be sure they’re in before the voting deadline at Monday, February 4, 2013. Go vote!

Share Our Posts

Share this post through social bookmarks.

  • Delicious
  • Digg
  • Newsvine
  • RSS
  • StumbleUpon
  • Technorati