DoU Hall of Greatness: Now Voting for 2000s | Disciples of Uecker

Disciples of Uecker

We'd like to go to the Playoffs, that would be cool.

Earlier this week, readers voted only one Brewers player into the DoU Hall of Greatness from the 1990s. That was Jeff Cirillo. It was a ballot that was littered with role players and journeymen, but it lacked the star power necessary to induct more than one player.

We transition to the 2000s, and I was surprised to find that very few members of this decade are actually eligible for induction. Either they didn’t play at least three years in Milwaukee, or they haven’t been retired for a full three seasons. Craig Counsell isn’t eligible. Neither is Ben Sheets. Nor is even someone like Doug Davis.

With that said, this ballot will likely be extremely short. I could be overlooking a player or two (it’s been known to happen), but I wanted to officially put Bob Uecker on this ballot. I’ve had one or two votes for him in the past week. To give him the full attention he deserves, though, he will be eligible for induction into the DoU Hall of Greatness in this ballot.

So, let’s get down to it. For those who have not yet cast a ballot for the DoU Hall of Greatness, here are the guidelines:

(1) You may vote for up to ten individuals, and your ballot is not restricted to players. You may vote for players, managers, or owners.

(2) The individual must have played in Milwaukee for at least three seasons.

(3) An individual needs 65% of the vote to be inducted into the DoU Hall of Greatness and must receive at least 5% of the vote to be included on next year’s ballot.

(4) You have up to ten votes per ballot.

As before, send in your ballots to Include “DoU Hall of Greatness” in your subject line, and list which players for whom you’re voting in the body of the email. The voting will close for this era on Tuesday at 1:00pm central time.

Here are some of the names you might consider for your ballot. This is not an exhaustive list, however, so please take some time to research some of the past Brewers teams. After all, that’s the overarching point of this project.

Bob Uecker
Richie Sexson
Geoff Jenkins
Jose Hernandez
Brady Clark
Damian Miller
Jeff D’Amico
Dan Kolb
Derrick Turnbow

As I mentioned before, this is a small ballot. Do your research, though, because I’m probably missing some intriguing players who deserve mention in this vote. I’m looking forward to reading your ballots and tallying the votes. Remember: ballots are due on Tuesday, February 19 at 1:00pm central time and send your ballots to Happy voting!

Share Our Posts

Share this post through social bookmarks.

  • Delicious
  • Digg
  • Newsvine
  • RSS
  • StumbleUpon
  • Technorati