SweetSpot Awards: AL Cy Young Award | Disciples of Uecker

Disciples of Uecker

We'd like to go to the Playoffs, that would be cool.

The American League Cy Young award was undoubtedly the most talked about award this season, as Felix Hernandez put up crazy numbers (traditional ones and sabermetric ones!) without winning games and CC Sabathia racked up the wins with a good, but not great season. Apparently, the middle of the country doesn’t count, as Francisco Liriano (191 IP, 6.0 WAR, 9.5 K/9, 2.66 FIP received almost no credit for his excellent season, and apparently anything that happens before June doesn’t count, as Cliff Lee (7.1 WAR, 212 IP, 10.28 K/BB) was almost completely ignored as well.

In what many are calling a shift in the BBWAA, Hernandez took home the Cy Young award today with a stunning 21 of the 28 possible first place votes. Hernandez also ran away with the ballot in our voting, taking 17 of the 19 first place votes. Cliff Lee received one vote, and Francisco Liriano received the other.

Cliff Lee wasn’t forgotten by our voters as he was by the general public; his 6 second place votes led the ballot and resulted in his second place finish over Sabathia. My ballot reads Francisco Liriano, Cliff Lee, Felix Hernandez, Justin Verlander, and Jon Lester, although in retrospect I wish I had swapped Liriano and Lee. The full voting follows:

Share Our Posts

Share this post through social bookmarks.

  • Delicious
  • Digg
  • Newsvine
  • RSS
  • StumbleUpon
  • Technorati