SweetSpot Awards: Rookies of the Year | Disciples of Uecker

Disciples of Uecker

We'd like to go to the Playoffs, that would be cool.

Back in October, right before the playoffs started, I polled the authors of our excellent SweetSpot network for their votes on the Rookies of the Year, Cy Young Awards, and Most Valuable Player awards. Rob Neyer posted the results on the mothership at this post; here, my votes and the full results will be presented.

The winner of the SweetSpot NL Rookie of the Year is Jason Heyward, who led all rookies in fWAR with 5.0 and bWAR with 4.4. He excelled in a myriad of statistical categories, hitting .277/.393/.456 in 623 PAs and playing good defense in right field. That was enough to earn 13 of the 19 first place votes and hold off Buster Posey, who received 5 first place votes. My ballot was Heyward, Posey, and Jaime Garcia in third. The full voting follows:

The winner of the SweetSpot AL Rookie of the Year is Austin Jackson, who narrowly edged Neftali Feliz for the award. Jackson led all AL rookies with a 3.8 fWAR and a 2.5 bWAR, supported by a .293/.345/.400 line and solid defense in center field. Feliz finished with the rookie record for saves (40) and picked up 1.7 fWAR and 2.4 bWAR, excellent numbers for a reliever. Feliz actually received 9 first place votes to Jackson’s 7, but Jackson’s 8 second place votes sealed the deal as he won by he narrowest margin in any of our votes, four points. My ballot was Jackson, Brian Matusz in second, and Feliz in third. The full voting follows:

Share Our Posts

Share this post through social bookmarks.

  • Delicious
  • Digg
  • Newsvine
  • RSS
  • StumbleUpon
  • Technorati