Two Inducted Into DoU Hall of Greatness From 2000s | Disciples of Uecker

Disciples of Uecker

We'd like to go to the Playoffs, that would be cool.

The votes have been tabulated. Bob Uecker and Geoff Jenkins both received enough votes to eclipse the necessary 65 percent and will be the final two individuals who are inducted into the DoU Hall of Fame this year.

I was doubly surprised with this ballot. I was surprised that (1) Bob Uecker was not a unanimous choice amongst voters, and (2) Geoff Jenkins cleared the 65-percent mark so easily. Not that I don’t believe Jenkins deserved induction — as I voted for him on my ballot — but the healthy margin caught me by surprise, considering he only received 38.6% of the vote in the most recent Miller Park Walk of Fame vote.

Bob Uecker played two years with the Milwaukee Braves in 1962 and 1963, but he has become a beloved part of Milwaukee’s baseball culture due to his long-time role as radio broadcaster for the Milwaukee Brewers. He has held the position since 1971 was named into the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association Hall of Fame in 2011. He was also named to the National Radio Hall of Fame in 2001 and received the Ford C. Frick Award in 2003. Brewers fans know Uecker for his vast knowledge of baseball, but love him for his storytelling and his humor. In 2012, the Brewers honored him with a bronze statue outside of Miller Park.

Geoff Jenkins was selected ninth-overall by the Milwaukee Brewers in the first round of the 1995 Draft, and he ultimately spent ten years in Milwaukee. Although he made his big-league debut in 1998, Jenkins burst onto the baseball scene in 1999 and 2000 with back-to-back four-win seasons. His 2000 season — in which he hit 34 home runs, scored 100 runs, and compiled a .396 wOBA — was arguably the best offensive season of his career. The California native is often overlooked due to only one All-Star appearance. He was extremely valuable for the Brewers, though. His defense was top-notch, and his +26.9 WAR ranks him as the 23rd-best outfielder between 1998 and 2007 (the years he was in Milwaukee).

No other player came close to induction. Richie Sexson came the closest with 42.86% of the vote. Numerous questions came my way regarding Mark Loretta and why he wasn’t included on this ballot. He should have been, and that was an oversight on my part. For some reason, I thought he retired in 2010 and was one year away from eligibility. For those of you who voted for Loretta, hold off and do so again next year once Loretta officially becomes a part of the ballot.

** Note: Mark Attanasio is not yet eligible for induction into the DoU Hall of Greatness. An exception was made for Bob Uecker due to the fact he already has a statue in front of Miller Park. **

Here is the remainder of the voting for the 2000s ballot:

Player % of Vote
Bob Uecker 85.71%
Geoff Jenkins 85.71%
Richie Sexson 42.86%
Dan Kolb 14.29%
Brady Clark 3.57%
Derrick Turnbow 3.57%
Jose Hernandez 3.57%
Jeff D’Amico 3.57%
Damien Miller 3.57%
David Weathers 3.57%
Curt Leskanic 3.57%
Ray King 3.57%
Keith Ginter 3.57%

The idea is to continue this project into the coming years. For the players who received at least five percent of the vote this year, they will be included in next winter’s ballot. Until then, look for the DoU Hall of Greatness tab that will soon be located in the top ribbon menu on the website.

Thank you to everyone who participated in the project, and I’m already looking forward to next year’s vote to see if anyone can break the 65-percent mark and get inducted into the DoU Hall of Greatness.

Share Our Posts

Share this post through social bookmarks.

  • Delicious
  • Digg
  • Newsvine
  • RSS
  • StumbleUpon
  • Technorati